960007•Gibbs M. Smith, Inc. v. United States Fidelity & Guaranty Co
Full text
This opinion is subject to revision before final publication in the Pacific Reporter.
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF UTAH
----oo0oo----
Gibbs M. Smith, Inc., a Utah
corporation, Plaintiff and Appellee,
v.
United States Fidelity &
Guaranty Co., a Maryland
corporation, and Fidelity &
Guaranty Underwriters, Inc.,
an Ohio corporation, doing
business in Utah collectively
as USF&G,
Defendants and Appellants.
Nos. 960007, 960045
F I L E D December 2, 1997
Third District, Salt Lake Div. I
The Honorable David S. Young
Attorneys: Daniel G. Darger, Salt Lake City, for plaintiff
Gary L. Johnson, Salt Lake City, for defendants
---
HOWE, Justice:
An insurer appeals from the trial court's grant of partial summary judgment that
its commercial general liability insurance contract with a publisher covers the
loss in Malaysia of photographic transparencies belonging to the author whose book
the publisher contracted to publish for sale in the United States. The insurer
also challenges the trial court's grant of attorney fees to the publisher and the
court's ruling that partial payment by the common carrier responsible for the loss
cannot be deducted from the insurer's liability. The trial court certified the
partial summary judgment as final under rule 54(b).
FACTS
Publisher Gibbs M. Smith, Inc. (Gibbs), was the named insured under a commercial
general liability insurance contract issued by insurer United States Fidelity and
Guaranty Co. and Fidelity and Guaranty Underwriters, Inc. (collectively, USF&G).
Gibbs entered into a publication contract with Tom Heinz, the author of a book on
the midwestern houses of Frank Lloyd Wright. Heinz planned to illustrate the book
with reproductions of original photographs of the houses. The licensing agreement
provided: "The Publisher will endeavor to take good care of all material
delivered and will be responsible for any loss or damage caused to original
photographs. Publisher and Heinz agree that each photograph is valued at fifteen
hundred dollars. ($1,500.00)." Gibbs subcontracted the actual printing to Regent
Printing in Hong Kong. Regent out-sourced the color separation of the photographs
to a color separation house in Malaysia, which completed the separation and
shipped two packages back to Hong Kong via Federal Express. One package contained
the transparencies and the first set of marked proofs. The other contained
additional materials for printing the books. Although both packages were manifest
on loading in Malaysia, when the plane was unloaded in Hong Kong the box with the
photographic transparencies was missing and has never been found. Regent Printing
paid Gibbs $3000 toward the cost of the lost transparencies.
The loss occurred on July 26, 1993. In August 1993, Gibbs gave notice of the loss
to USF&G's agent, Barlow Insurance Agency, which responded that coverage did not
apply, apparently without ever forwarding the claim to USF&G. In January of 1994,
Heinz contacted Gibbs by letter demanding payment of $1500 for each of the
nineteen lost photographic transparencies as per the contract for a total of
$27,000. Gibbs, through counsel, subsequently requested coverage directly from
USF&G, which it refused, whereupon Gibbs brought this action against it. USF&G
moved for summary judgment, arguing that the insurance contract did not cover the
loss, and Gibbs filed a cross-motion for a declaration that coverage applies. The
trial court ruled in favor of Gibbs, concluding that the agreement between Gibbs
and Heinz was an "insured contract," that the loss occurred within the policy's
"coverage territory," and that USF&G had breached its contract with Gibbs. The
court additionally concluded that Gibbs' attorney fees for its suit against USF&G
were a foreseeable consequence of the breach, warranting an award of fees and
costs, and that under the "collateral source rule," the $3000 payment from Regent
could not be deducted from USF&G's liability to Gibbs.
ANALYSIS
Summary judgment is appropriate only where there are no disputed issues of
material fact and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.
Utah R. Civ. P. 56(c). "Questions of contract interpretation not requiring resort
to extrinsic evidence are matters of law, and on such questions we accord the
trial court's interpretation no presumption of correctness." Zion's First Nat'l
Bank v. National Am. Title Ins., 749 P.2d 651, 653 (Utah 1988) (citations
omitted).
The question before us involves the interpretation of a commercial general
liability insurance contract. Coverage "A," "Bodily Injury and Property Damage
Liability," provides:
1. Insuring Agreement.
a. We will pay those sums that the insured becomes legally obligated to pay as
damages because of "bodily injury" or "property damage" to which this insurance
applies. We will have the right and duty to defend any "suit" seeking those
damages. We may at our discretion investigate any "occurrence" and settle any
claim or "suit" that may result. . . .
b. This insurance applies to "bodily injury" and "property damage" only if:
(1) The "bodily injury" or "property damage" is caused by an "occurrence" that
takes place in the "coverage territory"; and
(2) The "bodily injury" or "property damage" occurs during the policy period.
. . . .
2. Exclusions.
This insurance does not apply to:
a. . . . ;
b. "Bodily injury" or "property damage" for which the insured is obligated to pay
damages by reason of the assumption of liability in a contract or agreement. This
exclusion does not apply to liability for damages:
(1) Assumed in a contract or agreement that is an "insured contract," provided
the "bodily injury" or "property damage" occurs subsequent to the execution of the
contract or agreement; or
(2) That the insured would have in the absence of the contract or agreement.
The alphabetical list of exclusions stretches from "a" to "m," but the controversy
before us centers on the interpretation of two of the exclusions, "b" and "l," and
the definition of "coverage territory." We will detail these further as the
discussion requires.
I. CONTRACT EXCLUSION CLAUSE--EXCLUSION b.
Exclusion b. set out above provides that the insurance does not apply to
contractually assumed liability for bodily injury or property damage except if the
insured's agreement with the third party complies with the insurance policy's
definition of "insured contract" (b.(1)) or the liability would have existed in
the absence of the contract (b.(2)). USF&G contends that because Gibbs' liability
to Heinz for the loss of the photographic transparencies is "assumed" in the
contract between them and the contract does not meet the policy's definition of an
"insured contract," exclusion b. operates to exclude coverage. Gibbs counters
that his contract with Heinz qualifies as an "insured contract" and is therefore
an exception to the exclusion. The trial court agreed with Gibbs.
As USF&G's brief correctly states, however, "Courts have over and over again
interpreted the phrase 'liability assumed by the insured under any contract' to
apply only to indemnification and hold-harmless agreements, whereby the insured
agrees to 'assume' the tort liability of another." In the subsequent sentence,
USF&G asserts that this language "does not refer, nor does it provide coverage
for, the insured's breaches of its own contracts." (Emphasis added.) However,
that language is an exclusion, not a grant of coverage. Thus, if USF&G is correct
that the provision does not apply to the insured's breaches of its own contracts,
such breaches are not excluded and coverage applies.
In Olympic, Inc. v. Providence Washington Insurance Co., 648 P.2d 1008, 1011
(Alaska 1982),(1) the court observed, "'Liability assumed by the insured under any
contract' refers to liability incurred when one promises to indemnify or hold
harmless another, and does not refer to liability that results from breach of
contract." The court explained further:
Liability ordinarily occurs only after breach of contract. However, in the case
of indemnification or hold harmless agreements, assumption of another's liability
constitutes performance of the contract. Because "liability assumed by contract"
refers to a particular type of contract--a hold harmless or indemnification
agreement--and not to the liability that results from breach of contract, the
contractual liability exclusion applies only to hold harmless agreements.
Id. (citing 1 Rowland H. Long, Law of Liability Insurance § 1.12 (1981)); see also
43 Am. Jur. 2d Insurance § 712 (1982). The pertinent law abundantly confirms that
a liability insurance contract exclusion clause excludes only contracts in which
the insured assumes the tort liability of another. See Commercial Union Ins. v.
Basic Am. Med., 703 F. Supp. 629, 633 (E.D. Mich. 1989) ("'[C]ontractual exclusion
clauses' deny the coverage generally assumed by a liability policy in cases in
which the insured in a contract with a third party agrees to save harmless or
indemnify [a] third party."); Smithway Motor Xpress v. Liberty Mut. Ins., 484
N.W.2d 192, 196 (Iowa 1992) ("We believe there is a distinction between incurring
liability through breach of an employment contract and incurring liability through
entering a contract to assume liability of another."); Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co.
v. Cotter, 522 N.E.2d 1013, 1014 (Mass. Ct. App. 1988) ("The 'liability assumed'
exclusion clause has been taken to refer to 'liability incurred' when one promises
to indemnify or hold harmless another.").
The law imposes upon the insured a liability to pay damages for bodily injuries or
damage to property caused by his carelessness and arising out of his ownership,
maintenance, care, custody or use of property. This is the liability upon which
the insurer agrees to pay all sums "which the insured shall become legally
obligated to pay." . . . "Liability imposed by law for damages," or damages which
the insured becomes "legally obligated to pay," excludes liability which the
insured may have voluntarily assumed . . . . An oral or written agreement by the
insured to indemnify third persons or save them harmless is excluded from coverage
generally assumed by the insurer under a liability insurance policy. . . . Union
Paving Co. v. Thomas, 186 F.2d 172 (3d Cir. 1951).
1 Rowland H. Long, Law of Liability Insurance §§ 1.07[1], 1.07[2] (1997). Long
suggests that the rationale behind this rule is that "liability assumed by the
insured under a contract or agreement presents an uncertain risk" which cannot be
determined in advance for the purpose of fixing premiums. Id. § 1.07[2], at
1-42.1. Consequently, "[c]ontractual exclusion clauses which deny coverage for
liability assumed by the insured under any contract or agreement not defined in
the policy relieve the insurer from liability only in fact situations where the
insured would not be liable to a third person except for the express assumption of
such liability." Id. at 1-44 (emphasis added). This is reasonable in view of the
fact that "[a]ll business transactions are entered into according to some sort of
agreement or understanding." Larsen v. General Casualty Co., 99 F. Supp 300, 302
(D. Minn. 1951), aff'd, 196 F.2d 170 (8th Cir. 1952).(2) If the contract exclusion
clause excluded all liability associated with a contract made by the insured,
commercial liability insurance would be severely limited in its coverage.
Therefore, the contract exclusion clause b. does not apply to Gibbs' liability to
Heinz, and we need not consider the "insured contract" exception.(3)
II. THE PRODUCTS-COMPLETED OPERATIONS
HAZARD EXCLUSION--EXCLUSION l.
The parties devote a considerable portion of their briefs to "products-completed
operations coverage." However, the "products completed operations hazard" is not
a provision for coverage, but an exclusion,(4) as follows:
Exclusions.
This insurance does not apply to:
a. . . . ;
b. [contract exclusion clause]
. . . ;
l. Property damage to "your work" arising out of it or any part of it and
included in the "products completed operations hazard." This exclusion does not
apply if the damaged work or work out of which the damage arises was performed on
your behalf by a subcontractor.
(Emphasis added.) Thus, the threshold question becomes whether the work resulting
in the loss was performed by a subcontractor, because the insurance contract
provides that the exclusion does not apply to such work. USF&G does not challenge
Gibbs' characterization of Regent Printing and the Malaysian color separation
house as "subagents" or subcontractors. On the contrary, as discussed below,
USF&G complains that Gibbs is guilty of misrepresentation because its insurance
application form failed to acknowledge the publisher's use of subcontractors. The
insurer thus admits, at least by implication, that Regent Printing and the color
separation house functioned in that capacity. Therefore, exclusion l. does not
apply to deny coverage.
III. COVERAGE TERRITORY
Insurance coverage is limited to property damage that occurs in the "coverage
territory," which the policy defines as the United States, its territories and
possessions, Puerto Rico, and Canada. However, coverage also extends to
c. All parts of the world if:
(1) The injury or damage arises out of:
(a) Goods or products made or sold by you [named insured] in the territory
described above; or
(b) . . . ; and
(2) The insured's responsibility to pay damages is determined in a "suit" on the
merits in the territory described in (a) above, or in a settlement we [USF&G]
agree to.
We will first address provision (1).
The trial court concluded that "the Frank Lloyd Wright books, which included the
photographs supplied by Heinz, are goods manufactured and sold in the 'coverage
territory,' as defined by Defendant's policy, thus extending the 'coverage
territory' worldwide, and this loss incurred in the coverage territory." USF&G
contends that the books had neither been completely made nor sold at the time of
the loss. The layout and paste-up of the books occurred in Layton, Utah, although
Gibbs subcontracted other aspects of the manufacture of the books to various
locations. Furthermore, the Midwestern Houses book was volume four of a
six-volume set treating the works of Frank Lloyd Wright. The preceding three
volumes, which had already been published and sold in the United States, also
contained photographic illustrations, possibly even reproductions of some of the
photographs that were subsequently lost. The contract between Heinz and Gibbs
referenced all six volumes. Therefore, if we consider the whole series as the
"product," it had already begun to be sold in the United States. Even if we
consider only the volume currently in process, however, the terms "made" and
"sold" appear in the contract unmodified as to tense. There is no indication that
the contract contemplates only completed products. In fact, other provisions of
the contract indicate that coverage applies specifically to uncompleted products.
Under the policy definition of "products-completed operations hazard," there is no
coverage for
a. . . . "bodily injury" and "property damage" occurring away from the premises
you own or rent and arising out of "your work" except [meaning there is coverage
for]
(1) Products that are still in your physical possession or
(2) Work that has not yet been completed or abandoned.
(Emphasis added.) Therefore, "made or sold" cannot be restricted to past actions
but must more logically refer to current and future actions.
USF&G further argues that coverage does not apply because the loss involved only
the photographs, which were not "goods or products" but merely part of an
intermediate step in the manufacturing process. However, the policy provides
coverage for damages which "arise out of" the goods or products. We noted in
National Farmers Union Property & Casualty Co. v. Western Casualty & Surety Co.,
577 P.2d 961, 963 (Utah 1978):
As used in a liability insurance policy, the words "arising out of" are very
broad, general and comprehensive. They are commonly understood to mean
originating from, growing out of, or flowing from, and require only that there be
some causal relationship between the injury and the risk for which coverage is
provided.
See also Rouse v. Greyhound Rent-A-Car, Inc., 506 F.2d 410, 414 n.3 (5th Cir.
- ("The term 'arising out of' is ordinarily understood to mean originating
from, incident to, or connected with the item in question."). In the instant
case, a causal connection exists between the loss of the photographs and the
manufacture of the books. Consequently, the loss arose out of the "goods made or
sold" by Gibbs in the coverage territory.
We next consider provision (2). According to the record before us, Gibbs'
liability to Heinz has not been decided in a suit on the merits. Heinz demands
payment of $27,000 from Gibbs according to their contract, but USF&G maintains
that it has not approved that "settlement." However, USF&G's rejection of Gibbs'
claim precluded further cooperation between them.
In a letter dated January 1994, Heinz asked Gibbs to perform on the contract and
cover the loss. It would be irrational to require that Gibbs, after receiving
notice denying coverage, compound its damages by forcing Heinz to sue it on the
licensing contract. This irrationality is the reason that "provisions prohibiting
out-of-court settlements between an insured and a claimant without the consent of
the insurer are not enforced when the insurer repudiates coverage or denies
liability." Franklin v. Oklahoma City Abstract & Title Co., 584 F.2d 964, 968
(10th Cir. 1978) (citations omitted); see also Central Armature Works v. American
Motorist Ins., 520 F. Supp. 283, 289 (D.D.C. 1980). Furthermore, "[i]t is well
settled that, at least after a denial of liability by an insurer, the insured may
enter into a settlement with a third party without prejudicing its rights against
the insurer." Bunge Corp. v. London & Overseas Ins. Co., 394 F.2d 496, 497 (2d
Cir. 1968). Therefore, "an assured is entitled to exercise the judgment of a
prudent uninsured person in compromising the claim when the insurer repudiates
coverage." Simon v. Maryland Cas. Co., 353 F.2d 608, 612 (5th Cir. 1965).
Indeed, when an insurer disclaims liability on the basis of noncoverage, not only
may the insured bring an action against the insurer, but in addition "the insurer
is bound by any reasonable compromise or settlement made by the insured." Waugh
v. American Cas. Co., 378 P.2d 170, 177 (Kan. 1963).
Thus insurance contract provision c.(2), requiring suit on the merits or approval
of the settlement, properly functions not to bar coverage but to protect the
insurance company against the danger of collusive settlements between the insured
and a third party. When an insurer declines to avail itself of this protection,
the insured may act to protect its own interests without forfeiting the right to
coverage. Consequently, a settlement agreement between Heinz and Gibbs would not
defeat the publisher's rights against its insurer. We therefore hold that the
loss occurred in the "coverage territory."
IV. AWARD OF ATTORNEY FEES
USF&G assails the award of attorney fees made by the trial court to Gibbs on the
grounds (1) that this is a third-party action in which fees are not recoverable,
and (2) the award was premature because the trial court had not yet determined
whether USF&G had acted in bad faith. USF&G correctly distinguishes between
first-party coverage, which reimburses the insured for its own direct injuries,
and third-party liability coverage, in which the insurer indemnifies the insured
for its liability to third parties. Beck v. Farmers Ins. Exch., 701 P.2d 795, 798
n.2 (Utah 1985). While the instant case involves a claim for third-party
coverage, USF&G is being sued by its own insured. Therefore, the trial court did
not err in concluding that this is a first-party action, although a more accurate
statement might be that this is a first-party action for third-party coverage.
In Beck and later in Billings v. Union Bankers Insurance Co., 918 P.2d 461 (Utah
1996), we held that in first-party actions, attorney fees are recoverable where
there has been a breach of the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing
which inheres in every insurance contract. Bad faith need not be shown in proving
a breach of the covenant. Billings, at 465 n.2. Instead, in Beck we explained:
The implied covenant of good faith performance contemplates, at the very least,
that the insurer will diligently investigate the facts to enable it to determine
whether a claim is valid, will fairly evaluate the claim, and will thereafter act
promptly and reasonably in rejecting or settling the claim.
Beck, 701 P.2d at 801. In the instant case, Gibbs pleaded a breach of the implied
covenant of good faith and fair dealing in the second cause of action in its
complaint. However, in the partial summary judgment granted to Gibbs, which is
before us in this appeal, no determination was made whether the covenant was
breached. Thus the award of attorney fees made by the trial court cannot stand.
On remand, the trial court should determine whether the covenant has been breached
and award or deny attorney fees accordingly.
V. ROLE OF THE PAYMENT FROM REGENT PRINTING
Gibbs contends that under the collateral source rule, USF&G cannot deduct Regent
Printing's $3000 payment to Gibbs in partial compensation for the loss from
USF&G's insurance liability. USF&G responds that Gibbs had a duty to mitigate
damages and the $3000 payment was made in mitigation.
"The collateral source rule provides that a wrongdoer is not entitled to have
damages, for which he is liable, reduced by proof that the plaintiff has received
or will receive compensation or indemnity for the loss from an independent
collateral source." DeBois v. Nye, 584 P.2d 823, 825 (Utah 1978) (citations
omitted). The independent collateral source is most often the plaintiff's
insurer, and the usual role of the collateral source rule is to prevent insurance
payments of damages from reducing the wrongdoer's liability. See Suniland Corp.
v. Radcliffe, 576 P.2d 847 (Utah 1978) (plaintiff's insurance premium was not paid
to protect tortfeasor); Phillips v. Bennett, 439 P.2d 457 (Utah 1968) (insurance
payments belong to plaintiff and are not credited to defendant). Thus if Heinz
had independently insured the photographs, the collateral source rule would
dictate that a payment to Heinz from his insurer would not reduce Gibbs'
liability. Here, however, we consider the converse situation. The contested
payment comes from a party who could factually be considered a wrongdoer, not an
independent collateral source, and the party who stands to benefit from the
payment is the insurer, who is not a wrongdoer. The collateral source rule is not
helpful where we must decide whether a wrongdoer's partial payment of damages
diminishes the insurer's liability.
Neither, however, is this a clear case of mitigation of damages. As we stated in
Angelos v. First Interstate Bank of Utah, 671 P.2d 772, 777 (Utah 1983), "The
doctrine of avoidable consequences, also referred to as mitigation of damages,
generally operates to prevent one against whom a wrong has been committed from
recovering any item of damage arising from the wrongful conduct which could have
been avoided or minimized by reasonable means." (Emphasis added.)(5) USF&G
contends that because Gibbs failed to notify Regent Printing of the value of the
photographs or to purchase separate insurance for the shipping, "the doctrine of
mitigation of damages and avoidable consequences should trump the collateral
source rule." This argument is ineffective because an insured's duty to mitigate
commences only when "some damage has occurred, of which [the insured] has
knowledge," 46 C.J.S. Insurance § 1125 (1993), and thus Gibbs had no preloss duty
to mitigate damages.
The proper doctrine applicable in this case is the insurer's right of subrogation
against the wrongdoer. Not only may an insurer seek reimbursement from the
wrongdoer for payments previously made to an insured, but "the payment by a
tortfeasor for property damage to an insured ordinarily relieves the insurance
company from paying therefor." 44 Am. Jur. 2d Insurance § 1813 (1982). See
generally id. at §§ 1815-1818. Where the insured has received payment from both
the insurer and the wrongdoer, "[t]he general rule is unquestionably that the
insurer can recover from the insured, of the sum of insurance paid upon the
policy, . . . the excess received from the wrongdoer after full compensation for
[insured's] loss, including the costs and expenses thereof." Shawnee Fire Ins. Co
v. Cosgrove, 86 Kan. 374, 121 P. 488, 489 (1912); see also Annotation, Insurance--Loss Paid by Another 51 A.L.R.2d, at 697, § 6, at 712; Agricultural Ins. Co. v.
Utah Light & Traction Co., 114 Utah 355, 199 P.2d 567 (1948); Ortiz v. Great
Southern Fire & Cas. Ins. Co., 597 S.W.2d 342 (Tex. 1980) (insurer can recover
excess collected from wrongdoer after insured is fully compensated). Therefore,
although USF&G is liable to Gibbs for the sum of the damages it must pay to Heinz
plus associated costs and expenses, any payment received in excess of that amount
is the rightful property of USF&G.
VI. DISPUTED ISSUES OF MATERIAL FACT
USF&G contends that there are disputed issues of material fact, arguing (1) that
the trial court relied on the doctrine of "reasonable expectations," and (2) that
the trial court "went beyond the plain language of the definition of coverage
territory to assume extrinsic evidence of intent on the part of USF&G." However,
although the trial court discussed the expectations of a purchaser of insurance in
its oral ruling, neither its written judgment nor our opinion here relies on the
doctrine of reasonable expectations or on extrinsic evidence of intent.
Additionally, USF&G alleges that Gibbs misrepresented material facts during the
contract negotiations by failing to inform the insurance company of the
publisher's use of subcontractors. Gibbs responds, and the record verifies, that
the query "Are subcontractors used?" to which Gibbs responded in the negative,
appeared in a 1991 application for workers' compensation insurance rather than on
the general commercial liability insurance application. Furthermore, this issue
was raised for the first time in USF&G's postjudgment motion to amend its answer
to the complaint, which the trial court denied before issuing the written
judgment. This appeal is limited to the partial summary judgment that the trial
court certified as final under rule 54(b), and therefore, the issue of
misrepresentation is not before us.
CONCLUSION
We affirm, partly on different grounds, the trial court's partial summary judgment
that coverage under USF&G's commercial general liability insurance policy applies
to Gibbs' loss of the photographic plates belonging to Heinz. We reverse the
award of attorney fees and direct the trial court on remand to determine whether
USF&G has breached the implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing and to
award or deny fees accordingly. We reverse the trial court's judgment that the
collateral source rule applies to the payment that Gibbs received from Regent
Printing and direct the trial court to reduce the amount of the judgment
accordingly.
Affirmed in part on different grounds, and reversed in part.
---
Associate Chief Justice Stewart and Justice Durham concur in Justice Howe's
opinion.
---
ZIMMERMAN, Chief Justice, dissenting:
I dissent from the result reached by the majority. I would hold that the property
damage did not occur in the "coverage territory," which is the United States, its
territories and possessions, Puerto Rico, and Canada. I cannot agree that the
books had been made or sold at the time of loss. It stretches credulity to argue
that because this is one volume of a six-volume set, the whole series is to be
seen as the "product." For that reason, I would reverse the trial court and enter
judgment for USF&G. Accordingly, I join with the majority in reversing the award
of attorney fees. I also join in the majority's reversal of the trial court's
judgment that the collateral source rule applied to the payment that Gibbs
received from Regent Printing.
---
Justice Russon concurs in Chief Justice Zimmerman's dissenting opinion.
1. (Citing Dreis Krump Mfg. Co. v. Phoenix Ins. Co., 548 F.2d 681, 684 (7th Cir. 1977); J.L. Simmons Co. v. Fidelity &
Cas. Co., 511 F.2d 87, 96 (7th Cir. 1975); Continental Ins. Co. v. Bussell, 498 P.2d 706, 710 (Alaska 1972); Haugan v.
Home Indem. Co., 86 S.D. 406, 197 N.W.2d 18, 23 (1972).)
2. Finding that a contract to clean an oil burner "was the usual type which the policy was designed to cover within the terms
of the policy if liability was imposed by law."
3. Although the trial court's grant of summary judgment relied on the conclusion that the license agreement was an
"insured contract," "we may affirm a trial court's decision on any proper ground(s), despite the trial court's having assigned
another reason for its ruling." Buehner Block Co. v. UWC Assocs., 752 P.2d 892, 895 (Utah 1988) (footnote omitted).
4. "One type of clause in contractor's insurance is known as the 'completed operations hazards' which excludes from
coverage of a liability policy [liability] for injury or damages occurring after the project is completed." 43 Am. Jur. 2d
§ 719, at 785. For a more complete discussion, see 58 A.L.R.3d 12-142 (1974).
5. For example, a landlord must mitigate a broken lease agreement by reletting the subject property, Olympus Hills
Shopping Ctr. v. Landes, 821 P.2d 451 (Utah 1991), a wrongfully discharged employee must look for a new job, Piacitelli
v. Southern Utah State College, 636 P.2d 1063 (Utah 1981), and the aggrieved party in a breach of contract "may not,
either by action or inaction, aggravate the injury occasioned by the breach, but has a duty actively to mitigate his damages."
Madsen v. Murrey & Sons Co., 743 P.2d 1212, 1214 (Utah 1987).
Wondering how this text applies to your situation?
Free consultation, no commitment
Describe your situation. Our team will contact you by email about your consultation.
Continue your research in ChatGPT or Claude
Connect Omnilex to search the legal corpus from your AI assistant.