1:25-cv-00060•Case Name in Social Security Case - Unavailable
Texto completo
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW HAMPSHIRE Richard Joseph Lagorio v. Case No. 25-cv-60-LM-AJ Frank Bisignano, Commissioner, Social Security Administration Report and Recommendation Richard Joseph Lagorio seeks judicial review pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 405(g) of the Commissioner’s decision, following remand, denying his application for child’s insurance benefits. Lagorio’s motion to reverse the Commissioner’s decision and the Commissioner’s motion to affirm are referred to the undersigned Magistrate Judge for a report and recommendation. See 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B). For the reasons that follow, the district judge should grant the Commissioner’s motion to affirm and deny Lagorio’s motion to reverse. Standard of Review In reviewing a decision of the Commissioner under § 405(g), the court “is limited to determining whether the ALJ deployed the proper legal standards and found facts upon the proper quantum of evidence.” Nguyen v. Chater, 172 F.3d 31, 35 (1st Cir. 1999); accord Sacilowski v. Saul, 959 F.3d 431, 437 (1st Cir. 2020). Questions of law are reviewed de novo. Seavey v. Barnhart, 276 F.3d 1, 9 (1st Cir. 2001). The ALJ’s factual Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 1 of 9
2 findings must be affirmed if they are supported by substantial evidence. Biestek v. Berryhill, 587 U.S. 97, 99 (2019). Substantial evidence is “more than a mere scintilla” and means “such relevant evidence as a reasonable mind might accept as adequate to support a conclusion.” Id. at 102-03 (cleaned up). Background Lagorio applied to the Social Security Administration for child’s insurance benefits in 2016, based on a disability due to a congenital degenerative bone disease, and sought benefits retroactively to 2008 when his father died. The Commissioner denied his application, finding that Lagorio engaged in substantial gainful activity while working for Stonyfield Farm, Inc. (“Stonyfield”) in 1999 and 2000, which precluded child’s insurance benefits, and he sought review in this court.1 Lagorio 1 To be eligible for child’s insurance benefits, an adult claimant “(1) must be unmarried, (2) must be the child of a person insured under the Act who either has died or is entitled to disability benefits under the Act, (3) must have been financially dependent on that insured person at the time the person died or became eligible for benefits, and (4) must establish that he “is under a disability ... which began before he attained the age of 22.” Lagorio v. Saul, 565 F. Supp. 3d 210, 214 (D.N.H. 2020) (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 402(d)(1); 20 C.F.R. § 404.350). “[D]isability is defined in pertinent part as the ‘inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity” due to an impairment.’” Id. (quoting 42 U.S.C. § 423(d)(1)(A)). Therefore, an adult claimant must also show “that he has suffered from a continuous, uninterrupted inability to engage in substantial gainful activity from before age 22 through the date on which he applied for benefits.” Id. (internal quotation marks omitted). Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 2 of 9
3 v. Saul, 19-cv-571-LM-AJ (D.N.H. filed May 29, 2019). The court concluded that “[t]he record establishes, and the ALJ [Administrative Law Judge] correctly found, that Lagorio earned above the minimum earnings threshold for substantial gainful activity during the period from December 1999 through some time in 2000.” Lagorio v. Saul, 565 F. Supp. 3d 210, 221 (D.N.H. 2020) (“Lagorio I”). The court reversed the Commissioner’s decision and remanded the case, however, because the ALJ failed to consider whether Lagorio’s work at Stonyfield constituted unsuccessful work attempts, whether he worked at Stonyfield under special conditions, and specified evidence in the record – a Work Activity Report and Lagorio’s affidavit. Id. at 218-222. The Commissioner moved for reconsideration. In the order addressing the motion for reconsideration, the court noted that it had previously found three errors that required reversal and remand: (1) failure to consider a question of unsuccessful work attempts for purposes of 20 C.F.R. § 404.1574(c); (2) failure to consider whether Lagorio’s work took place under special conditions for purposes of 20 C.F.R. § 404.1573(c); and (3) disregard of specified evidence in the record. Lagorio v. Saul, 565 F. Supp. 3d 147, 150 (D.N.H. 2021) (“Lagorio II”). The court concluded that Lagorio’s argument in his objection to reconsideration about an undeveloped record was untimely raised and did not demonstrate error. Id. at 151. Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 3 of 9
4 The court agreed with the Commissioner that the ALJ’s error in failing to consider unsuccessful work attempts was harmless and not a basis for reversal. Id. The court rejected the Commissioner’s argument, however, about the second error, whether Lagorio’s prior work was under special conditions, concluding the argument was waived because it was not raised in the Commissioner’s moving papers and, in any case, the Commissioner’s arguments were unpersuasive. Id. at 153-54. The court denied the motion for reconsideration and remanded the case for further proceedings as to “the ALJ’s failure to conduct a special conditions inquiry under Section 404.1573(c).” Id. at 154. On remand, the ALJ held a hearing, and Lagorio, who was represented by counsel, testified. The ALJ issued a decision on June 28, 2023, again denying Lagorio’s application for child’s insurance benefits. Doc. no. 5. The ALJ found that Lagorio’s earnings from 1999 to 2000 exceeded the threshold for substantial gainful activity. Id. at 18. He considered Work Activity Report and Lagorio’s affidavit, the evidence that the court found had been overlooked for purposes of the first decision. The ALJ concluded that Lagorio did not have an unsuccessful work attempt during that time. Id. at 19-20. On the issue of whether Lagorio’s work at Stonyfield under special conditions, within the meaning of § 404.1573(c), the ALJ Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 4 of 9
5 stated that application of the special conditions exception to substantial gainful activity was discretionary and that the regulation did not direct a finding of no substantial gainful activity even when work was done under special conditions. Doc. no. 5 at 20. Nevertheless, the ALJ also addressed the conflicting evidence of Lagorio’s limitations while working at Stonyfield and found that the record did not show that Lagorio worked under special conditions.2 The ALJ found that Lagorio engaged in substantial gainful activity in 2000 and, for that reason, found that Lagorio was not entitled to child’s insurance benefits. Discussion In his motion to reverse the decision denying him benefits, Lagorio argues that the ALJ did not follow the court’s order remanding the case and did not consider all material evidence presented.3 Specifically, Lagorio contends that the ALJ erred in 2 Because the ALJ did not decline, as a matter of discretion, to consider whether Lagorio worked at Stonyfield under special conditions as provided in § 404.1573(c), the court need not and does not address the legal question that the ALJ raised. 3 Although Lagorio also mentions that a vocational expert did not testify at either hearing as to whether his testimony about his duties at Stonyfield “constituted accommodations or merely permissible modifications,” he provides no developed argument to show that the ALJ erred in that regard. Doc. no. 7-1 at 4. The ALJ did not credit Lagorio’s hearing testimony because it contradicted his prior testimony and prior representations about his work. For that reason, the nature of the Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 5 of 9
6 refusing to admit as evidence a report following review of his medical file by an orthopedic surgeon, Frank A. Graf, M.D., and refusing to allow Dr. Graf to testify at the hearing.4 The Commissioner moves to affirm the decision, arguing that the ALJ correctly excluded Dr. Graf’s opinion and properly followed the court’s remand order. A. Specified Evidence As noted above in the background section, the ALJ considered the specified evidence that the court found had not been previously considered in making his findings. Lagorio does not challenge that part of the decision. B. Dr. Graf’s Report Dr. Graf states at the beginning of the report that it is “an analysis of Richard Lagorio and whether he meets the criteria of listings 1.01 and 1.o4 of the social security disability listings.” Doc. no. 7-3, at 39. In his summary, Dr. Graf concluded that Lagorio “fully meets the criteria of listing 1.02 with status post total hip arthroplasty.” Id. at 43. Dr. Graf also found that Lagorio “fully meets the criteria of listing 1/04 disorders of the spine with peripheral spinal nerve accommodations Lagorio described was not a reason he was denied benefits. Doc. no. 5 at 19. 4 Lagorio submitted Dr. Graf’s review with his motion to reverse the Commissioner’s decision. See doc. no. 7-3, at 39-43. Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 6 of 9
7 root injury with muscle atrophy and drop foot.” Id. He concluded that these conditions caused Lagorio to be totally disabled. The disability listings are part of the five-step analysis used for the purpose of determining whether an applicant for social security disability benefits under Title II of the Social Security Act and supplemental security income under Title XVI is disabled. Sacilowski, 959 F.3d at 433-34. Lagorio is seeking child’s insurance benefits under 42 U.S.C. § 402(d)(1) and the issue in this case is whether Lagorio engaged in substantial gainful activity after the age of 22. Lagorio has not shown or even argued that the five-step analysis would apply in this context. See Lagorio I, 565 F. Supp. 3d at 214 (providing applicable standard). During the hearing, Lagorio’s counsel and the ALJ discussed Dr. Graf’s review, which counsel wanted to add to the record on Lagorio’s behalf. The ALJ explained that the issue for remand was determining whether Lagorio had engaged in substantial gainful activity based on his earnings and work and that Dr. Graf’s report was not material to that issue. Doc. no. 5 at 29- 30. Counsel agreed that Dr. Graf’s review did not address the earnings and work issues but argued that the report did address disability, which was mentioned in the hearing notice. The ALJ explained that the hearing notice was “canned” and did not Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 7 of 9
8 include the specific issue presented for remand, which was not disability. Id. at 30. For purposes of the court’s review, Lagorio argues that the ALJ’s decision to exclude Dr. Graf’s report and testimony “effectively prevented [him] from providing any evidence that would have addressed the issue of SSR 84-25 and the reasons for [his] discontinuation for work.” Doc. no. 7-1 at 4. SSR 84-25, however, pertains to the issue of an unsuccessful work effort and “establishes that the Administration will not find that a claimant stopped working due to his impairments solely based on the claimant’s own testimony, but rather requires confirmation in the form of ‘impartial supporting evidence’ from a medical source or from the claimant's former employer.” Lagorio II, 565 F. Supp. 3d at 151 (quoting S.S.R. 84-25, 1984 WL 49799, at *3). The issue of an unsuccessful work attempt was resolved in Lagorio II and was not remanded. For that reason, the ALJ properly excluded Dr. Graf’s report and testimony as immaterial. Conclusion For these reasons, the district court should deny Lagorio’s motion to reverse (doc. no. 7) and grant the Commissioner’s motion to affirm (doc. no. 9). Any objections to this Report and Recommendation must be filed within fourteen days of receipt of this notice. See Fed. Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 8 of 9
9 R. Civ. P. 72(b)(2). The fourteen-day period may be extended upon motion. Only those issues raised in the objection to this Report and Recommendation are subject to review in the district court. See Sch. Union No. 37 v. United Natl Ins. Co., 617 F.3d 554, 564 (1st Cir. 2010). Any issues not preserved by such objection(s) are precluded on appeal. See id. Failure to file any objections within the specified time waives the right to appeal the district court’s order. See Santos-Santos v. Torres- Centeno, 842 F.3d 163, 168 (1st Cir. 2016). ______________________________ Andrea K. Johnstone United States Magistrate Judge December 12, 2025 cc: Counsel of Record Case 1:25-cv-00060-LM-AJ Document 10 Filed 12/12/25 Page 9 of 9
Continue sua pesquisa no ChatGPT ou Claude
Conecte o Omnilex para pesquisar o corpus jurídico pelo seu assistente de IA.